PDA

View Full Version : Shoulder Injury torn labrum bankart lesion

kerimo
14-03-2007, 09:51 AM
Hello All,

I am new to ths site and I found it very useful for people like us. I have dislocated my shoulder during snowboarding bak in 2003 and then referred to Goldberg. He told me to have an operation and I didt want it.

Since then I had 5-6 more dislocations. Last one I had was 4 weeks ago which was quite severe I had to go to hospital for reduction.

After that i booked with Dr. Bokor (i hope he is good) he said I am most likely to get an operation and he needs to decide whether keyhole or open method he will use. So he told me to gt MRI and I will see him today about the results.

MRI results say that I have torn labrum, hill sachs lesion and few other minor things. Do you think I need an operation? Is there no other way?

I am very anxious about surgery, I have never done any operation before. Is there any way I can relax myself. even the thought of it is killing me.

please help!
thanks
kerim

kerimo
14-03-2007, 05:49 PM
Just came back from Bokor's clinic and he told me that I only have labral tear. He said I can do physio but he offered arthoscopic surgery. Should I go ahead with the operation?

I am very anxious about the operation.

thanks

angieliu
14-03-2007, 05:52 PM
There was a recent study in arthroscopy where researchers did a study on conservative treatments vs surgery with shoulder dislocations and it showed that people who went with conservative treatments dislocated their shoulders more than once after the initial injury and those who had surgery had less problems.